How to Disable Gatekeeper to install some software in OSX 10.8 Mountain Lion

News Jul 25, 2012 at 01:55 PM

Are you updating to OSX Mountain Lion? Gatekeeper is a security device that is a new feature and you may need a work around for some software installers.

Are you updating to OSX Mountain Lion? There's a new feature called Gatekeeper which is designed to fight malware and viruses on the Mac. Gatekeeper blocks apps from developers that have not acquired a Developer ID from Apple, which will approve the Mac software as being safe. The Gatekeeper settings are turned on by default when you install the new OS. By the way, if you're running Mac OS X 10.7.3, Gatekeeper is already a feature and apps downloaded from the app store are all set to run on the system.

Red Giant has put a post on their blog explaining how to unlock the Gatekeeper feature to install their plug-ins. I am guessing that many of our vendors installers will also be affected by this new feature, and until everyone has a Developer ID and releases a new installer, you'll want to know how to disable it Apple if you're running OS X 10.8.

Note: You may receive an error message that which ever software "has not been signed by a recognized distributor and may damage your computer. You should move it to the trash." Do not fear downloading and installing products from our site or our vendors. If you're downloading stuff from a torrent site, however, that is another story!

Mac OS 10.8 compatible installers will be trickling in and we'll keep you abreast of plug-in updates. You can follow our RSS Feed in your newsreader, Like us on Facebook or Follow us on Twitter if you want to know right away.

Instructions on turning off Gatekeeper in OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

  1. Open System Preferences.
  2. Click Security & Privacy and make sure you're under the General tab.
  3. If the Lock icon on the bottom left corner is locked, click it, then enter your administrator name and password.
  4. Under "Allow applications downloaded from:" choose "Anywhere".

Now you can run the unapproved installers. When the installers finish doing their thing, you can set the Security & Privacy Settings back to the default. 

Gatekeeper

Posted by Michele Yamazaki

TAGS

Comments

You Must Be Logged In to Comment.